Freestyle integration into Blender

July 11, 2008

Quick feedback on SWIG removal advancement

Filed under: Notes, Other — The dev team @ 6:32 AM

I am very happy with my progress today. I have a greater understanding of how SWIG and the Python interpreter in Blender works. I feel like I have overcome the knowledge gap necessary to not only implement Freestyle’s Python API, but do it right. For short, I plan on implementing the bare essentials via the Python/C API and transfer the majority of the code in Python (currently done automatically by SWIG). I’ll remove all (currently strongly-typed) iterators for a list-based iteration and I’ll do away with all class casting code. I would want to elaborate on these details but frankly, I am exhausted… I have to get some sleep. I’ll try to describe my approach over the week-end, to make sure that I am getting this right. The resources that I found particularily helpful were:

On a totally irrelevant note, this blog received its first spam comment today. That’s something to celebrate.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

