Freestyle integration into Blender

July 27, 2008

Almost done with SWIG…

Filed under: Update — The dev team @ 2:59 PM

Sorry again for the recent lack of communication on the project. All of my progress of the past two weeks was logged in my Subversion branch commits. In case you want to have access to the latest updates, you can syndicate to the RSS feed available from CIA.vc.

I have been concentrating all of my efforts on getting SWIG removed as quickly as possible. Unfortunately, I have had to reconsider most of my original ideas. Instead of porting only 30 base classes and recoding everything in Python, I decided to port all of the original classes (about 140…) and keep most of the original API intact. I reconsidered my original plan to replace all iterators by list-based traversals. I would have had to either combine both functionalities into one data structure, or rewrite all the areas using iterators.  Not feasible “in a few days”…

Anyways, the good news is that it is almost over with. I should be able to test my work with original style modules tonight or tomorrow and if all goes well, I’ll move on to removing lib3ds next. If you are getting frustrated that you can’t  use Freestyle yet, you’ll have to continue to be patient :) Getting SWIG and lib3ds out of Freestyle are crucial to consider the GSoC project successful. I also need to remove all OpenGL bindings to consider the project complete. As I discussed it with Jean-Luc, I am not sure time will permit integrating Freestyle in the composer by the end of August. It really depends on how smooth the removal of lib3ds and the integration in the renderer goes. I will continue to keep you all updated on the blog.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

