Freestyle integration into Blender

July 29, 2008

Freestyle runs natively in Blender's Python environment

Filed under: Other — The dev team @ 10:55 AM

Great news ! The SWIG replacement is effective as of today and seems to run fine. I am relieved that all of the hard work I have put in the last two weeks has paid off. I do not know how stable the new system is yet, but I can say that at least it works. I will continue to test it this week and improve it. At least, a good foundation is already in place.

I will start working on getting lib3ds removed today. It’s unclear how difficult the job will be. I can only hope that it is faster than removing SWIG (and it should, I don’t have the same scale of code to produce). The quicker I get that done, the sooner I can make my GSoC project interesting again: integrating Freestyle with the internal renderer. That should then allow me to support render layers. I also wish to add a Freestyle tab in the UI this week, to finally be able to select style modules in the interface.

Even though there is still a lot more work to do, today is still a big achievement for me. For the first time, my work should be compiled on Windows stations without too many problems. I will try to contact platform builders to make sure my work is stable accross different systems. More on that in the next days too.

1 Comment »

  1. […] of awesomes, I was reading my RSS feeds and saw the Freestyle in Blender project is moving forward nicely. I’ve been anxiously waiting for this since my hand-drawing […]

    Pingback by Moonfire Thoughts :: Juggling Schedules — July 29, 2008 @ 4:54 PM


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

