Freestyle integration into Blender

September 9, 2008

Some feedback

Filed under: Other — The dev team @ 2:56 AM

[I originally posted this message on BlenderArtists in the Freestyle thread (http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?t=89986&page=7) to answer some questions that I found there. It is still waiting for moderator approval so I am putting it here too to make sure you all have this information.]

Hello everybody,
I have followed the thread throughout the summer and have wanted to answer some of your questions for a long time, but couldn’t due to lack of time. Now that I am back at school and  “settled” again, I have more time to communicate on the project. First and foremost, I want to reassure you all that despite the lack of recent progress, I still want to actively develop the remaining features of the original project proposal.

Let me now go over your different questions/remarks:

Win32/Linux 64 build
I have made a call on my blog for Win32 builders but have had no response. If you are interested in having a specialized build, are running the platform yourself and are not too scared to download the branch and compile it, please do let me know by sending me an email at maxime.curioni@gmail.com. I would work with you to make this build happen.

Crashes with animation
I haven’t myself tested Freestyle in such conditions. I am sure there is still quite a lot of redundacy in the current code and there is much room for improvement and optimization. If you encounter a crash and are able to recover a core dump or crash-related information, please do let me know. I’d be interested to resolve that issue.

strcmp issue
I added “#include <cstring>” to StringUtils.h. Hopefully, it will resolve the problem.

Trunk integration
I can understand that many of you would like to have Freestyle directly integrated in trunk now. Unfortunately, it is not production-ready and would not even pass Blender’s guidelines for release (I haven’t even started talking about trunk integration with the development team). I am sorry that the work cannot be distributed yet but it is better for long-term stability. I coded many parts of the project in a hurry and I would to go over many areas of my code, to clean it up.

User accounts on the blog
Apparently, my WordPress was wrongly configured so email registration was not working all along… I will go over each of the user accounts, manually recreating them and noticing each person by email. After that, I’ll try to configure the blog properly so that registration works. Thank you for your understanding.

I hope I have answered most of your questions. Do not hesitate to share your comments/questions, either on this thread (that I’ll continue to follow) or on my blog.

Thanks,
Maxime

2 Comments »

  1. :-) Thanks for the update Maxime! I’m looking forward to the new developments with Freestyle/Blender as soon as you are ready to share. node layers for compositing….oh joy

    Comment by 3D — September 9, 2008 @ 3:32 AM

  2. Hello Maxime, I’ve tried to support you (only with comments on this blog I fear) earlier, but I had some trouble to log in order to post.

    I’m really exited by the possibilities of your module and really amazed by the work you already done. Thank you very much Maxime.

    Comment by JeanR — September 9, 2008 @ 12:34 PM


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

